MSBee and VS2005 Web Application Project Beta 2

Topics: For MSBee Users
Aug 16, 2006 at 9:25 PM
migrated from power toy forums
originally posted by Andresmdc
------------------------------------------------------

I am new to MSBee and have been attempting to get a simple (calendar control and label) ASP.NET C# 1.1 project to compile inside VS2005 using MSBee and the Web Application Project Beta 2.

I carefully read through the MSBee documentation (twice) and made sure to add the correct import project reference after the existing one in the csproj file:

<Import Project="$(MSBuildExtensionsPath) \MSBee\MSBuildExtras.FX11.CSharp.targets" Condition=" '$(BuildingInsideVisualStudio)' == '' AND '$(TargetFX11)'=='true'" />

I also double checked that the virtual directory was set up to use .NET 1.1 through IIS manager.

However, when I opened the 2005 visual studio command prompt and ran this command:

msbuild Converted3rd2005.csproj /t:Rebuild /p:TargetFX1_1=true

I get a bunch of "missing assembly" errors, like this:

Build FAILED.
Global.asax.cs(5,18): error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'SessionState' does not exist in the class or namespace 'System.Web' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

I double checked that the references inside the project all point to 1.1 dlls. What else am I missing?
originally posted by Craig Lichtenstein - MSFT

Please bear in mind that MSBee doesn't officially support the Web Application Project Beta 2. We've just had anecdotal evidence that some people have gotten it to work.

That being said, I'd review your project for any changes caused by the VS project converter. For example, one issue we've found is that a VS 2003 project containing web references will use partial classes when converted to VS 2005. Since the v1.1 compiler wasn't designed for partial classes, build errors are produced. While you may not have a partial class problem, I'd compare your files from before and after the conversion and see if anything changed.